THE LITTLE CHAP WHO FOLLOWS ME


I should have posted this a week ago but permit me to still do it today. Seven days ago was my son Samuel’s birthday. The occasion made me reflect a lot. In three short years, the guy has taught me a lot. His birth and his growth have revealed many sides of me that I did not know existed before. I have become a better man all because of the privilege God gave me to father this “young man”.
I remembered that evening when he was born. I held him in my arms. The tiny bundle that he was, I wondered, “This is a human being, right from my veryown loins.” God indeed, is awesome. When I called his grandfather, (my dad, of course, what do you think?) I cried on the phone. My voice broke and I wept. At last I’d become a father! The reality of the privilege and responsibility dawned on me and in that moment I couldn’t hold back the tears.
A boy we (my wife and I, of course) had prayed for. And a boy God had given us. He was a true answer to prayer. So we named him Samuel – “For him we had prayed”. How the boy taught me to pray. Or rather, I should say, he made me pray; the waiting period for his coming, his conception, his delivery, his first few weeks, the first year, boy, did I pray? And I’m still praying. And growing, and knowing God better as a result. That, I won’t trade for anything in the world!
He is my protégé, my friend, my playmate. And true to God’s Word, he is the beginning of my strength, the excellence of dignity and the excellence of power! As I reflect on this anniversary of his birth, this poem just about summarizes my sentiments.
A careful man I want to be,
A little fellow follows me;
I do not dare to go astray
For fear he’ll go theself-same way.
I cannot once escape his eyes.
Whate’er he sees me do hetries.
Like ME he says he’s goingto be –
That little chap who followsme.
I must remember as I go
Through summer suns andwinter snows,
I am building for the yearsto be –
That little chap who followsme.

To you, Samuel AanuOluwalofifunmi Oluwadamilola IyeOluwadamayo, Daddy, Mummy and Joyce will always love you. We are proud of you and we bless God for your life today and we celebrate you. You will grow up before the Lord and go forth like the calf of the stall, in Jesus’ name! Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on November 10, 2011, in Family, Parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

