Join me and Let Us Pray John Knox’s Last Prayer


John Knox was the great Scottish reformer who lived in the 16th century. I’ve been studying his life again lately, and how greatly I have been blessed and encouraged to stand for the truth of God’s Word in my own generation as he did for his. His heart cry was, “Lord, give me Scotland or I die!” As he neared the very end of his eventful life one of his prayers was this that I repeat below. Would you please join me and let us pray:

“Lord, grant us faithful pastors, men who will preach and teach, in season and out of season. Lord, give us men who would gladly preach their next sermon even if it meant going to the stake for it. Lord, give us men who will hate all falsehood and lies, whether in the church or out of it. Lord, grant to Your struggling church men who fear You above all.”

Can I hear your resounding “Amen!”

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Bible, Christian Leadership, Church, Destiny, Faith, Mentoring, Ministry, Prayer, Preaching, Quotes, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

