I WANT TO LIVE LONG. WHAT OF YOU?


I don’t know about you, but I want to live long and healthy. If Christ tarries I would like to live well into my eighties and nineties still enjoying God and my family, living life and fulfilling my destiny.

I love the testimony of John Wesley, the 18th century revivalist, evangelist and founder of Methodism who lived to be 88 years. At age 86, he still embarked on a nine (9) week preaching tour, preaching an estimated 100 sermons in 60 towns and villages. He said, “For above 86 years, I found none of the infirmities of old age; my eyes did not wax dim, neither was my natural strength abated.”

When he turned eighty-five (85), he (Wesley) attributed his good health to the following as he recorded it in his journal:

1. To my constant exercise and change of air (EXERCISE)
2. To my never having lost a night’s sleep, sick or well, at land or at sea, since I was born. (GOOD SLEEP)
3. To my having sleep at command so that, whenever I feel myself almost worn out, I call it and it comes day or night. (REST and RELAXATION at FREQUENT INTERVALS. CALLING A REGULAR “TIME-OUT” IN YOUR SCHEDULE.)
4. To my having constantly for over sixty years risen at four in the morning. (DISCIPLINE and a GREAT DEVOTIONAL LIFE.)
5. To my constant preaching at five in the morning, for above fifty years. (HARD WORK and DILIGENCE)
6. To my having had so little pain in my life, and so little sorrow or anxious care. (NO ANXIETY NOR WORRIES)

Watch your health. You might have heard it said, and it’s true: When wealth is lost, nothing is lost. But when health is lost, all is lost! Do not end up like Robert Murray McCheyne the famed Scottish missionary who on his death bed at the tender age of twenty-nine dying of exhaustion, lamented, “God gave me a message to deliver and a horse to ride. Alas, I have killed the horse, and I cannot deliver the message!”

I do not just want to shine, I want to last. Selah! YOU WILL SUCCEED!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on February 3, 2012, in Attitude, Books & Reading, Choice, Church, Desire, Destiny, Encouragement, Health, Leadership, Mentoring, Ministry, Preaching, Spiritual Growth, Success and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

