HOW DO YOU DEFINE A FRIEND? (4)


A TRUE FRIEND ENCOURAGES YOUR GOD-GIVEN DREAM

Simon Peter answered and said, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” Jesus answered and said to him, “Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jonah, for flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but My Father who is in heaven. And I also say to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build My church, and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it. And I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven, and whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.” Then He commanded His disciples that they should tell no one that He was Jesus the Christ. From that time Jesus began to show to His disciples that He must go to Jerusalem, and suffer many things from the elders and chief priests and scribes, and be killed, and be raised the third day. Then Peter took Him aside and began to rebuke Him, saying, “Far be it from You, Lord; this shall not happen to You!” But He turned and said to Peter, “Get behind Me, Satan! You are an offense to Me, for you are not mindful of the things of God, but the things of men.” (Matthew 16:16-23)

How can someone in five short verses go from being ‘most blessed’ to being called ‘satan’; from trusted associate to worst adversary? Jesus showed here that: Anyone who makes you deviate from your purpose in God is no longer a friend, he has become an enemy!

Mark Twain said, “Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.” If you belittle what I hold in high esteem, you’re not my friend.

If you blur my focus on my assignment; you’re not my friend.

If you make me lose sight of my dream, I refuse you to be my friend.

If you make me doubt my destiny, you’re not my friend.

If you cast aspersion on or despise my dream, I refuse you to be my friend. I agree with pastor and leadership coach, Dan Reiland that, “A genuine friend encourages and challenges us to live out our best thoughts, honor our purest motives, and achieve our significant dreams.” YOU WILL SUCCEED!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on April 11, 2012, in Attitude, Bible, Choice, Destiny, Dreams, Faith, Friendship, Holiness, Inspiration, Leadership, Mentoring, Partnership, Personal Development, Purpose, Relationships, Spiritual Growth, Success, Vision and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Quopte “If you make me doubt my destiny, you’re not my friend.”.. true my brother a real friend will always pull you into that which is yours..

  2. You couldn’t be anymore right than you are. Well spoken. People that try to make you do bad things and lead you away from the charactor that embodies christ’s charactor is not a true friend at all.

Leave a Reply

