When Books Commit Suicide!


I had always believed that we should raise our kids on books and not on the TV. And here I found supportive evidence.

But by the way, how will you raise your kids on books when you yourself, don’t read. I am an avid reader. I love books. And I read like there is no other thing else to do. And my wife and I are raising our two kids to do the same too. We try as much as possible to reduce TV time and substitute it with reading. Think about it. If you watch too much TV, we might never see you on TV. (I mean, you just might not make that much impact in life to ever warrant an appearance on TV). Today a reader, tomorrow a leader!

Let me conclude with this quote: “I strongly believe that we should turn the TV way down in our lives and get back to reading – reading broadly, deeply, outside our comfort zones and outside our professional fields.” (Stephen R. Covey, The 8th Habit) You will succeed!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on May 7, 2012, in Books & Reading, Destiny, Discovery, Dreams, Excellence, Family, Inspiration, Leadership, Mind, Motivation, Parenting, Personal Development, Purpose, Quotes, Reading, Spiritual Growth, Success, Vision and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. LOVE this. My husband and I don’t even have TV. We only watch movies, and we read out loud together all the time instead of watching trashy TV shows. 🙂

  2. Its was a thoughtful write up

Leave a Reply

