TALENT IS OVERRATED!


This thought that I came across in a book I was reading last week sparked my thinking along these lines again. The author Peter Montoya said: “Great athletes become great not because of talent but through tireless work.”

And that is so true. Talent does not win in life. It is work that wins! How do I mean? Skill and expertise, not talent is what counts in the school of achievement. Nobody will pay you for your talent; you’re only paid for your expertise. Don’t overrate your talent; it’s a dreadfully cheap commodity. It is your personal discipline that counts. You have to hone your talent until it becomes a marketable skill. That is when your talent begins to pay off.

I heard a friend say this once, and it blessed me: “Talent makes you available, but skill makes you desirable.” Skill is what you really market, no one – not even you – pays for raw talent. So, it’s time you get to work. The bane of talented folks is the discipline to turn that gift into something ‘sellable’. But you, my friend have to force yourself if need be to pay that price. Your gift is great but so is the discipline that must accompany it, if it must bring in meaningful returns.

I see you celebrated but you must first pay the price. You will win with your own talent. You will succeed!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Attitude, Business, Choice, Desire, Destiny, Dreams, Ideas, Inspiration, Leadership, Mentoring, Personal Development, Purpose, Quotes, Success and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I agree with u. ‘Talent’ is nothing without perseverance. u may want to check out my blog which gives my detailed opinion on y talent is overrated.

  2. This is something I learned in high school. For my first year, I felt like I wasn’t good at anything. I had no natural talent in any class or activity. I had dropped marching band because I lacked musical talent, and I’d joined the colorguard. Sadly, I found I had no dance talent either. Instead of giving up again, I decided to make my own talent.

    My second year, I was captain of the colorguard – the youngest in my school’s history. 🙂 So the moral of the story: Yomi’s right! Listen to him! It really works.

Leave a Reply

