PREACH, BASKETMOUTH, PREACH!


I wrote this in Ile-Ife, southwest Nigeria where I was privileged to speak to some two hundred plus youths of secondary school age yesterday morning. I was very excited about the opportunity and I was not disappointed. I had a great time teaching, answering questions and praying with those kids at this malleable stage of their lives. Thank God for His grace.

Investing in people and adding value to them is my passion. It is my life! – a core principle around which I have built my teaching ministry for almost two decades. And I intend to keep doing this till I see Jesus face to face. I simply serve God by serving His people.

What I want to share with you is something I read on my trip to Ile-Ife. You know, success leaves clues everywhere. I learn from everyone; sifting it through the filter of God’s Word.

Comedian Basketmouth (if you’re not Nigerian, pardon me) was asked in an interview what advice he’ll give to those aspiring to follow in his footsteps. I was impressed by his response. Here I quote him verbatim:

“Don’t take my footsteps, take yours, it will make you more unique and different. All you can do is to use my footsteps as a guide and motivational item. I’ve made a lot of mistakes in life, but then mistakes are the rehearsal to success if one learns from it. Make your own mistakes, build your own style, be the best at what you do. Get into the game for the love of the art and not the money and fame. Be original; be ready to take great risks. Be your own competition. Don’t measure yourself with anyone. Be relentless. Get into the battle to win the crowd and not your contemporaries. Believe in yourself and always pray before you make decisions.”

Thank you, Basketmouth for this great advice. Hope you’re as inspired as I am by this. Have a lovely week ahead. You will succeed!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on June 10, 2012, in Choice, Destiny, Dreams, Encouragement, Excellence, Failure, Inspiration, Leadership, Mentoring, Personal Development, Purpose, Quotes, Success and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

