PARENTS, HEAR THIS!


I have been working for the past few weeks on a keynote address I would be delivering at a school next month. And I’m so excited about this. After ministry, education, teaching and personal development is the passion of my life. You should have noticed that if you’ve been with me on this platform for a while.

I would be speaking on the collective roles of the school, parents and teachers in a child’s moral upbringing. And my studies have been throwing up a lot of interesting facts, thoughts and ideas. (Maybe when I’m through with the presentation, I might serialize part of it here.) I want to share with you, especially if you are a parent out there, something, the celebrated neurosurgeon; Ben Carson, M.D. has to say:

“If you start reading to your children as soon as they are able to sit up in your lap, then by the time they are old enough to start reading themselves, they will already associate books and reading with fun and enjoyment. Read often and read for variety. Strike a balance between reading some books kids get to choose and others you select for content and literary merit. Make trips to the children’s section of your local library part of your family routine. And when children get old enough to read on their own, do whatever you can to make sure they do so. Even if that means restricting other activities… . Kids who read are kids who learn. Reading is the best foundation you can give them for ensuring a successful lifetime of learning.”

Thanks Dr. Carson, for this great thought. This is so timely in these days and times when parents leave their kids with the TV to be mentored and tutored by Barney, Ben 10 and such likes. Reading is it! Friends I’ve tried it, it is working! You will succeed!

You may want to read some other stuffs I’ve written here along this line. See When Book Commit Suicide; or check out my posts tagged Books & Reading.

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Books & Reading, Destiny, Family, Ideas, Mentoring, Mind, Nigeria, Parenting, Personal Development, Quotes, Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

