7 THINGS TO BE THANKFUL FOR


In life there are so many things to be thankful for. But what of those things that are not so pleasant that you wonder, “Why be thankful for this?” Here I share seven everyday scenarios wherein we should be thankful (that was a random pick though, feel free to add yours. I’m waiting to hear it.)

You should be thankful for:

• Your dustbin when it’s getting filled. It means you’ve been having something to eat!

• Your cooking pot when it gets black with smoke. It means you’ve had something to cook. Only God knows how many families go to bed hungry nightly!

• Your washtub when it’s full of dirty dishes. That means you’ve been having something to eat.

• Your kids when they exasperate you. If you are still trusting God for the fruit of the womb, would there be any of them troubling you?

• Your job, when you are passed over for a promotion. If you don’t have a job, would you be thinking of promotion?

• The privilege when your clients owe you money. What if you didn’t even have products or services to sell?

• The times when you miss your flight or your flight is cancelled (don’t be picky with me now). Who actually knows or can tell what you really missed?

My reason for bringing up this is because I found out I am tempted to focus on the not-so-positive that I take for granted the fact that good and bad are two faces of the same coin. Always check on the other side of the coin before you grumble. Let us learn to be thankful, always!

Paul puts it in these words: “Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice.” (Phil. 4:4) “In everything give thanks…” (1 Thess. 5:18)

Alright now, add yours to this list of things to be thankful for. YOU WILL SUCCEED!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on July 4, 2012, in Attitude, Bible, Choice, Encouragement, Failure, Family, God, Mentoring, Praise, Success and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Good post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this
    subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Thanks!

  2. Very good written article. It will be beneficial to anybody who employess it, including me. Keep doing what you are doing – i will definitely read more posts.

  3. I think about the “missed flight” one all the time. My husband and I share one car, and it breaks down all the time. When that happens, we always try to remind eachother that it might not be such a bad thing that God just wants us to stay put for now. We’ve been in a car wreck before, and we like that God has kept us safe from that for years. 🙂

  4. Hi Yomi,

    I like your blog’s purpose and its nice reading your thoughts. This post is spot-on as we really need no reason to be ‘thankful for’. All that we need is already provided for.

    I add this quote by Mahatma Gandhi ~
    “Earth provides enough to satisfy every man’s need, but not every man’s greed”.

    Cheers,
    Dilip

Leave a Reply

