LESSONS LIFE HAS TAUGHT ME: USE REGRET POSITIVELY


I continue on the lessons that life has taught me. Still this lesson came to me because of my personality type. But I do not think it is limited to people who are melancholy alone, we all have regrets. (Are there real people out there? Do I have any witness on this one?) I have learnt in my life to use my regrets positively.

Regret, I’ve found, should not always be regretful. After all, regret is not regress!

Regret will not be regretful when you allow it to be a positive motivation towards greater accomplishments. Like I said earlier, I have regrets. And I am sure you do too. As bad as I may feel about it, I do not kill myself over them. A man or woman without regrets is a dead man. Only dead men have no regrets.

A man who has no regrets has added no new information to his life. To live is to learn. To live today is to regret the actions of yesterday. Haven’t you discovered that much of life’s lessons are learnt in retrospect? I think, the challenge here is both to keep learning from our daily experiences and to keep adding new information to our lives. That way, we will always have regrets. But we will also never have a better ‘last year’!

I challenge you today to move beyond your regrets. You should have them. If you don’t, it means you are neither growing nor learning anything new. Use your regrets positively to make today better than yesterday. YOU WILL SUCCEED!

P.S. Learn to do what Paul said in his epistle to the Philippians. “Forget the things that are behind and reaching forth to those things which are ahead…” (3:13) I’ve found it helps in dealing with your regrets. Much blessings!

For more on this series of posts, see: Talent-Won’t-Win-Without-Discipline; The-Law-Of-The-Sabbath-Rest; There-Is-No-Hopeless-Situation

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on August 11, 2012, in Attitude, Bible, Change, Destiny, Dreams, Encouragement, Failure, Inspiration, Mentoring, Mind, Motivation, Purpose, Success, Thankfulness, Vision, Worry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. There are real people out here! 🙂 I’m pretty melancholy alone too.

Leave a Reply

