WRITE IT DOWN!


Whoever it is that said it, now I cannot remember but the truism of it I cannot deny. “Information that is not documented will never be implemented!” Don’t you think so too?

Learn to write things down. Use your brain, but please don’t forget to use your pen! Write down ideas and thoughts as they float across your mind. Ideas are like birds, they just fly over one’s head. But, we must learn to cage them. Capture them by writing them down as they come to you.

Don’t trust your memory too much. Smart people are often people who write things down. They know and believe that the faintest stroke of a pen is sharper than even the sharpest brain. The jot of a pen, I think, is larger than a chunk of memory!

Commit your goals to paper. Until you do, what you have are intentions that are seeds without soil.

Write down your goals. A goal not written down is a wish! And if wishes were horses, every beggar would ride!

Until you document your dreams, it remains a wish, like I said. Written down, it becomes a focused objective.

Keep a diary or an organizer (electronic or paper – any version would do so long as it serves you and suits the purpose) where you document appointments and events. I’m sure we all can tell stories of appointments missed due to forgetfulness which is simply lack of documentation.

Journaling is a good habit to cultivate. I have kept a journal since 1997. I call it my Destiny Journal. In there I document all sorts – dreams, visions, ideas, thoughts, experiences, the voice of God to me etc. This has helped me in some two major ways.

One, it has helped me stay focused, preventing distraction on my assignment in life. Two, writing down my thoughts help me gain perspective whether I’m down in the dumps or up on the mountain top. Also reading through these thoughts serves as a life-buoy in moments of depression and discouragement.

Cultivating the discipline (and I can tell you it is) of writing things down (especially your thoughts) makes you sharper, focused, more thoughtful and introspective. It’s like Francis Bacon said, “Reading makes a full man; speaking, a ready man; writing, an exact man.” That is how I, for one, have been able to write and speak, and blog (in the last two years) for the past two decades running.

Have you taken anything beneficial away from this? I believe God with you this week, YOU WILL SUCCEED!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on September 24, 2012, in Books & Reading, Business, Change, Desire, Destiny, Discipline, Dreams, Inspiration, Leadership, Life, Mentoring, Ministry, Personal Development, Success, Talent, Vision and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey sweetie from a teenage girlreader contunue the awesome website

  2. I’m a strong proponent of writing things down. I keep a running list of every script idea I ever have, no matter how vague, and a list of blog entries I want to write. I used to keep a prayer journal, but it didn’t last long. I should start that one up again – it’s probably the most important one anyway.

  3. Points truly worthy of note. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

