THE POWER OF ONE


This poem by Edward Everett Hale inspires me:

I am only one
But still I am one.
I cannot do everything
But still I can do something;
And because I cannot do everything
I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.

I don’t know about you, but I know this for a fact in my own life: It can be overwhelming trying to change the world or just to make a significant difference. And to really come to think about it, you can’t take on the entire world like that. Changing the world begins and really is all about influencing the person next to you. You may not be able to do everything. That is sure. You cannot even do everything. But that should not stop you from doing the little you can do.

See, it is little drops of water that make a mighty ocean. If you do what you can, and I do what I can, maybe we can together change the world. Jesus said it this way: “Let your light so shine…” (Matthew 5:16) It doesn’t matter the size of your light – small or big? Do what you can and leave the rest to God. But for God’s sake, DO SOMETHING!

Look around you today: What one thing can you change? What one step can you take that will make a significant difference in the world (your little world)? What simple thing can you do – maybe making a statement, doing an act of kindness, lending your voice to a cause and speaking out, start a blog? Whatever! Be a force for good and for God, in your immediate environment, your family, your street, your neighborhood. Now, that’s how to be a world-changer. YOU WILL SUCCEED!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on October 19, 2012, in Attitude, Bible, Business, Change, Choice, Destiny, Encouragement, Excellence, Faith, Ideas, Inspiration, Leadership, Life, Ministry, Quotes, Righteousness, Vision, Workplace Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love the “let your light shine” verse. Another good one is the one about faith the size of a mustard seed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

