ACCUMULATE MATTER! (Preparation: Key to Success 3)


If you have not been following my posts here over the last few days, you need to go back and read the last two posts: Success is no accident and Be prepared. Preparation, again I’ll say is a vital key to succeeding in any endeavor. It is the key to success. Let’s move on.

Every day I’m accumulating information relevant to my purpose in life. Why do I do that? The Holy Spirit said to me one day in 1999; “Accumulate matter, if you want to matter.” And because I want to succeed with my purpose, I gather stuff. I want to make a success of my calling as a pastor and preacher so much that I put myself on a perpetual study program. I am an eternal student!

As I’m writing this, I have two books I am reading while there are more than twenty-seven on my desk waiting to be read. I have more than seven CDs I’m listening to. More are on the bookshelf waiting to be perused. Every week I make sure I read at least two books or approximately four hundred (400) pages of printed matter. Don’t let that intimidate you! That is what my own calling demands. You determine what works for you and stick to it.

Acquire information. “Every enterprise is built by wise planning; it becomes strong through common sense and profits wonderfully by keeping abreast of the facts.” (Proverbs 24:3-4, Living Bible) Keep abreast of the facts. Gather relevant and current information about your vocation, line of trade/business or industry. Anthony Robbins wanted to be a problem solver. By the time he left high school, he had read more than 700 books on personal development and attended every seminar he could find. That is what I’m talking about. Bishop David Oyedepo said he gathered information filling forty-two files before stepping out to answer the call of God to ministry. That is preparation. YOU CANNOT OVER-PREPARE, YOU CAN ONLY UNDER-PREPARE!

Go, hide yourself if need be and accumulate matter. “Through desire a man, having separated himself, seeketh and intermeddleth with all wisdom.” (Proverbs 18:1, KJV) Invest in books, CDs, journals and magazines. Raise your own personal library of books. Study, if you want to be studied. Read; if you must be read. Seek to know and men will seek to know you.

Attend seminars where specialized knowledge in your field can be imparted to you. Pay to get information, it pays. “An investment in knowledge pays dividends,” Benjamin Franklin said. “It takes facts to be fat!” someone else added. Get knowledgeable about your dream seed. Get overqualified for your present position by preparing yourself for the next level of responsibility.

You may need additional schooling. Do not hesitate to get it. If you need expert advice and tutelage, get it by all means. “With all your getting, get understanding.” (Proverbs 4:7) You are only preparing for your future success. It is worth the stress and trouble. You cannot get something for nothing. “A wise man is strong; yea, a man of knowledge increaseth strength.” (Proverbs 24:5 KJV) YOU WILL SUCCEED! (TO BE CONTINUED.)

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on October 23, 2012, in Attitude, Bible, Books & Reading, Business, Choice, Desire, Destiny, Discipline, Dreams, Excellence, Goals, Ideas, Inspiration, Leadership, Life, Mentoring, Mind, Ministry, Personal Development, Preaching, Preparation, Purpose, Quotes, Success, Talent, Vision, Workplace Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the post today. How do u ve time to read 2 books weekly? Does this include ebooks downloaded? WhEre do u get all the CDs u talked about? Do u just read on any topic or are there specialties? A few of the burning questions I ve.

    • Thanks for your questions, dear ma. I have always said, you’ll find time for whatever you prioritize. I must confess it’s not as easy as it sounds but I will address these in a post this week. Please watch this space. Thanks for coming by as always. Much blessings! Yomi

Leave a Reply

