12 THINGS TO REMEMBER IN 2012 (4)


The revered evangelist Billy Graham once met a dear old lady in a hotel lobby, I think. On meeting him, the woman said, “Oh! You look like Billy Graham, anybody ever told you that?” The evangelist replied, “Yes, people tell me that a lot!” Then the woman came back and said, “He’s not this tall on TV. You must not be him.”

That for me, several years back on reading this, defined for me an ideal in life and kingdom service. The dignity of simplicity is one of the twelve things I want you not to forget as 2012 wounds down to its end.

The Dignity of SIMPLICITY
Dr. David Oyedepo said once that “you do not go after public image that leads to personal damage!” Who are you trying to impress? Very many of us spend the money that we don’t have to buy things we don’t need to impress people we don’t like and who in the least do not even care about us! Jesus said, “Take heed and beware of covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses.” (See Luke 12:15)

Simplify your life. Your worth is not in your dress, it’s in your address! (Hope you got my meaning.) The robe does not make the monk, it only identifies him. Let no man lead you away from the simplicity that is in Christ (See 2 Corinthians 11:3).

Simplicity is dignified. YOU WILL SUCCEED!

Question: Can you share with me one experience you’ve had that illustrates this?

For the earlier posts in these series check: time, perseverance, and work.

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on November 14, 2012, in Attitude, Choice, Discipline, Greatness, Leadership, Life, Mentoring, Mind, Ministry, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great write-up, I could not have said it better.

  2. Sir this simple but powerful message has blessed my life. May God Bless you in Jesus Name

  3. Wow. The dignity of simplicity. This is something I’m going to have to think about for a long time. Deep stuff! Thanks for this inspirational post! I always enjoy your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

