THE PICTURE OF A MISFIT


I must confess there is one argument I have never won with my wife. She’s always on my case saying, “Treat your face! A public speaker/pastor’s face must look good!” But I’ve never been one to count that to be important. And she’s just never going to stop, at least she hasn’t. Every facial beauty regimen she has recommended to yours truly has never been seriously followed. Do not blame me, I just have never been one to fancy that. I have always been a fanatic as to what was behind the face. And I was reading this scripture again recently in the Message paraphrase and it suddenly hit me:

“LIKE A GOLD RING IN A PIG’S SNOUT IS A BEAUTIFUL FACE ON AN EMPTY HEAD.” (Proverbs 11:22)

Obviously, a gold ring in a pig’s snout is a misfit. So, if my face is beautiful but my head is empty, it’s not fitting! Let me ask: What are you packing into that head on your neck? Are you dressing up your face at the expense of your brain?

You know, I think God gave us a brain so we can give him some rest. Won’t it be a misfit of sorts, if that head is empty devoid of stuffs that matters (and I mean no insult, sir/ma’am!) A man’s wisdom should make his face to shine (see Ecclesiastes 8:1 KJV) It’s nice to have a beauty regimen but it’s better to also have a mental and spiritual regimen. It’s time we began to put some stuff into our God-given minds. And by the way, I’m already thinking of repenting and taking my wife’s advice. Have a lovely day and God bless you real good. Cheers!

P. S. I want to apologize for the rather inconsistency of my posts in the last few weeks. I’ve been having challenges with my laptop computer. That’s why. As soon as I get it fixed or better still, I believe God I’ll get a new one, I should be able to stay in touch on a better frequency as it used to be. ( And if God is laying it on your heart to get me another laptop computer, why not, I’ll receive it with joy. Much blessings, friends!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on March 21, 2013, in Bible, Choice, Destiny, Discipline, Excellence, Greatness, Health, Inspiration, Leadership, Life, Mentoring, Mind, Personal Development, Spiritual Growth, Success and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

