WHAT DO YOU SEE WHEN YOU LOOK AT PEOPLE?


Years ago as an undergraduate, I took a summer teaching job. Whenever I entered the classroom I always took a bow and greet the students as “ladies and gentlemen”. One of the students asked me why I did that one day. I answered her, “Because I see you not as what you are right now but as who you will be years down the line!”

“When I see people, everyone, every human, I understand that I am in the presence of greatness. Maybe potential greatness, or greatness unpolished, or greatness unfound, but every person has the ability.” (Kat Cole) I concur! Every human being carries the imprint of the Almighty.

This quote inspires what I’m sharing with you today, dear friend. Don’t just see people as they are; see them as they can be. So much more important for those of us who have a responsibility for others, whether as parents, bosses, pastors, teachers, heads of department, etc., in any leadership capacity. That is why I wrote the book That I Look Like A Beggar Does Not Say I Do Not Have A Throne! And it is why I volunteer to train and mentor under-privileged kids at Paradigm Initiative Nigeria’s Ajegunle.org project. It’s also why I’ve made it part of my life’s work to build a leadership center for youths where they can be trained and given an opportunity to discover and develop their innate potential for greatness.

Everyone you see is pregnant with destiny. Beneath every face is a precious person loved and valued by God. Respect that always. Never look down on anyone except you want to help them up. Look within your sphere of influence and do something to help someone today. You will succeed!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on June 10, 2014, in Bible, Business, Choice, Christian Leadership, Destiny, Dreams, Encouragement, Goals, Greatness, Kindness, Leadership, Life, Love, Mentoring, Ministry, Parenting, Quotes, Success, Talent, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Taiwo Akinsola

    As far as I know, You have engaged in developing youth for a long time. You were once a summer school teacher at Modakeke high school. What a sacrifice! Keep it up, Sir! Where can I get your book ” That I look like a beggar does not say I do not have a throne”?

Leave a Reply

