LESSONS LIFE HAS TAUGHT ME: OBEY THE LAW OF THE SABBATH – REST!


I want to do a series of posts on the lessons life has taught me here on this blog. I will talk more about it later, but first check this out and be blessed!

OBEY THE LAW OF THE SABBATH – REST!

If you do not put your body to rest, your body will put you to rest!

The world is run by tired men; I can almost hear you say. But I will tell you what you already know – fatigue is not good. It can kill your vision. Tiredness can stop your dreams!

Fatigue stops your dreams by stopping you – the dreamer! No dead man pursues a dream! Hardly can a sick person execute a vision. “The lifespan of any job is more than that of a human being!” (Yoruba saying) So, here is my advice – Rest, in “pieces” before you “rest-in-peace”. Rest, in one piece before you are rested, in pieces!

Fatigue opens the door to the enemy. It brings frustration, depression and can even lead to suicide. Rest, however is refreshing. It injects new strength and vigor into your day.

A good hour of sleep may be all you need now to get back on track. You may need to take a break or a day off from work. And really use that day to rest. No phone calls. No checking of emails. (I’m touching sacred cows now.) Switch off your blackberrys. Laptops closed. Tablet PCs off! Give yourself that long-deserved leave. Even God, the Infinite One, rested, who are you finite man that want to continue without a pause?

Boredom is one of the things that lead to fatigue. Inject creativity into your life. Change what you’ve been doing. Do things differently. Reschedule/reprogram your routine. Rearrange your workstation. Take a different route to work. Just do something fresh!

We must all admit, our twenty-first century 24/7 work-life pace is killing! We want things done and that very fast. We are an impatient generation. But it’s not helping us. Well, it has its benefits but you know what I’m saying. So, I tell you my dear friend, slacken your pace. Slow your roll (if I may borrow that colloquial phrase)! My preacher brothers/sisters are very guilty of this. Hear me: You cannot finish the work of God! That dream will outlast you, whether you like it or not.

I enjoin you to learn from the young Scottish preacher and missionary, Robert Murray McCheyne, who said on his deathbed at age twenty-nine (29), a victim of fatigue: “God gave me a message to deliver and a horse to ride. Alas, I’ve killed the horse and now I cannot deliver the message!” Dead men don’t preach!

I close with Jesus’ very words: “Jesus said, “Come off by yourselves, let’s take a break and get a little rest.” For there was constant coming and going. They didn’t even have time to eat. So they got into the boat and went off to a remote place by themselves.” (Mark 6:30-32, The Message)

Consider my words and may the Lord give you understanding. I’m off to rest!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Attitude, Bible, Business, Change, Choice, Christian Leadership, Dreams, Health, Ideas, Leadership, Mentoring, Ministry, Personal Development, Preaching, Quotes, Rest, Success, Vision and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You have showed great perseverance behind the blog. It’s been enriched since the beginning. I love to share to with my friends. Carry on.

Leave a comment