Daily Archives: January 26, 2012

Want To Change The World? Change Yourself!


THE MAN WHO WANTED TO CHANGE THE WORLD!

I have not been there but it is reported that in the crypts of Westminster Abbey, in England the following words were written on the tomb of an Anglican bishop who lived in the 11th century:

“When I was young and free my imagination had no limits, I dreamed of changing the world. As I grew older and wiser, I discovered the world would not change, so I shortened my sights somewhat and decided to change only my country. But it, too, seemed immovable. As I grew in my twilight years, in one last desperate attempt, I settled for changing only my family, those closest to me, but alas, they would have none of it. And now as I lie on my deathbed, I suddenly realized: If I had only changed myself first, then by example I would have changed my family. From their inspiration and encouragement, I would then have been able to better my country and, who knows, I may even have changed my world.”

If you change your world, the world will change for you. Don’t waste your life trying to change the world, change yourself! (Excerpts from the book, YOU CAN CHANGE YOUR WORLD! By Yomi Olufiade)

THOUGHTS TO CHEW ON


Prayer may move mountains but praise moves the mountain-moving God! I don’t want to move mountains, I want to move God! When I move God, He’ll move my mountains for me. He is the Immovable Mover. He is an Awesome God, He is worthy to be praised! – Yomi Olufiade

DISABILITY IS “THIS-ABILITY”!


No handicap can tie you down if you have it in you to succeed. And I believe you do.

A handicap is not a bad thing. It’s a “cap-in-the-hand”. You can use it to crown your success in some field. Disability is not inability. Your disability is “this-ability!”

Helen Keller was stricken blind, deaf and dumb when she was just 19 months old. Yet she went on to learn five languages: English, German, French, Greek and Latin. She took a B. A. degree at 26 and for more than fifty years worked at the American Foundation for the Blind in New York City.

She was asked what could be worse than being blind, and she said it’s “Having sight without vision!”

Stevie Wonder is blind yet he is a world-acclaimed singer and music producer. Our own Cobhams Asuquo too.

Franklin D. Roosevelt was paraplegic yet he was US president for twelve years.

Barack Obama is black, yet he’s occupying the White House!

What’s your own handicap? Financial, educational, physical, emotional? I dare you to ignore it today and move on with your life. YOU WILL SUCCEED!