5 THINGS I WISH EVERY CHRISTIAN LEADER BE REMINDED OF (Pt 5)


Thank you for staying with me thus far through this series. Do hope you’ve been tremendously blessed.

5. LEADERSHIP IS LEARNING. Leaders are made not born. Perish the thought that there are born leaders. Leadership is a set of skills that can be taught, and learnt! That’s comforting to know because it means I can grow my leadership potential. I can improve as a leader. Since I knew this, I’ve become a lifelong student of the subject.

If leadership can be taught, and learnt, then it follows that leaders must be learners. I like how Rick Warren put it. He said, “To keep leading, keep learning.” I think what distinguishes us leaders from our followers is simply our capacity to learn. As leaders we must cure our destination disease. Perish the thought that you know it all, “being there, done that”. No! Keep growing, keep learning, and keep reading. In these times and days, you have no excuse because there is no dearth rather an avalanche of good resources to help you grow.

We have to trade in our pride and become teachable. Only the meek will God teach (Psalm 25:9). Really, when we lose our teachability (our learning posture) we lose our teaching ability (the grace to lead and teach)! “My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge. Because you have rejected knowledge, I also will reject you from being priest for Me;” (Hosea 4:6)

Let’s avoid shortcuts and pay whatever price we have to, to learn whatever we need to, to effectively serve the people we are called to lead. Put yourself on a perpetual self-development program. (This we will treat in detail at another time.)

Hope I have been of a little help in these series of posts. If you have missed any, see them here:
Leadership is about knowing God.
Leadership is a privilege.
Leadership is not lordship, it’s servanthood.
Leadership is about equipping people.

YOU WILL SUCCEED!

About Yomi Olufiade

My passion, dear friend, is to help you find, follow and fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Not only that, I also want to help you achieve tremendous success with your God-ideas and assignment through this medium via the life-changing truths of the Word of God. I’m sure you won’t remain the same again after interacting with me.

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Attitude, Bible, Books & Reading, Christian Leadership, Church, Encouragement, Inspiration, Leadership, Mentoring, Mind, Ministry, Personal Development, Preaching, Spiritual Growth, Workplace Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. God bless u sir.

Leave a comment